Tennis Roadtrip to Sony Ericsson Open-Key Biscayne

Next week I’m fulfilling a long-time desire to go to a big-time tennis tournament. Not as a player, of course (although that would be nice), but as a fan. On Tuesday I’m driving from Decatur, GA to Key Biscayne, FL to watch the first few rounds of the Sony Ericsson Open.

I’m very psyched. All the top men’s and women’s players are planning to be there, including Nadal, Federer, Djokovic, Murray, Williams sisters, etc. This tournament is one of just a handful of non-Grand Slam tournaments where the men’s and women’s tours play. Because of that and the money and prestige associated with it, it has been nicknamed “the fifth Slam.” Like most fans, I’ve always dreamed of going to one of the Grand Slams, but they are prohibitively expensive and crowded. With this tournament, my travel expenses will be relatively cheap because I’m driving. I’m even saving money on lodging by sharing a cabin at a nearby state park with my friend and co-worker Steve who is also a tennis fan. We’re going to go see the first three days of the tournament, which will give us a chance to see lots of matches and most of the top players. Many of the matches will be played on the outer courts where you can get really close to the action. I’m anxious to see what it looks like when Roddick serves or when Nadal whips a topspin forehand. I’m looking forward to watching the players warming up on the practice courts almost as much as the matches.

If Steve and I get tired of tennis, there’s plenty of other cool things to do in the area we’re staying including snorkeling, mountain biking, kayaking, and so on. And I’m sure we’ll enjoy a little Miami nightlife too.

~ by jonwbecker on March 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
